The Village of Estero keeps taxes low withgovernment liteoperations. Many functions, such as waste removal and road and landscaping maintenance, are achieved through partnerships with other municipalities and private companies. Led by Village Manager Steve Sarkozy, the lean Village of Estero staff handles all aspects of community development and many other governmental functions. Discover the functions of each department and find contact information below.

 

Estero Village Manager Steve Sarkozy

Steve Sarkozy

Village Manager

239.221.5035

sarkozy@estero-fl.gov

Steve Sarkozy came to the Village in November 2015 with 35 years of local government experience, the latest as City Manager for the City of Carlsbad, California. He also served as City Manager to City of Bellevue, Washington; City of Roseville, Minnesota; and City of Geneva, New York. As Village Manager, Sarkozy serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the Village, responsible to the Village Council. He will appoint and remove all Village employees, direct and supervise the administration of all departments of the Village, attend all meetings of the Village Council, ensure that all laws, Charter provisions, ordinances, resolutions and other acts of the Council are faithfully executed, prepare the annual operating and capital budget, and keep the Council fully advised as to the financial condition and future needs of the Village.

 

Finance Department

Village of Estero Finance Director Chris Phillips

Chris Phillips

Finance Director

239.221.5035

phillips@estero-fl.gov

Chris Phillips joined the Village staff in August 2021 after having served in local government finance for 22 years. Phillips is a Certified Government Financial Manager through the Association of Government Accountants. He brings a vast background in local government finance including experience in budgeting, debt and treasury management, TRIM (Truth in Millage), financial reporting, human resources and employee health insurance administration.

 

Bob Franceschini, Procurement

239.319.2821

franceschini@estero-fl.gov

 

Carla Faxel, Finance Clerk

239.221.5032

faxel@estero-fl.gov

 

Karen Gudella, Finance Clerk

239.319.2839

gudella@estero-fl.gov

 
 

Public Works Department

Village of Estero Public Works Director David Willems

David Willems

Public Works Director

239.221.5035

willems@estero-fl.gov

David Willems has served as the Public Works Director for the Village of Estero since January 2018. He came to Estero with over 21 years of local engineering experience and is a recognized expert in stormwater management. As Public Works Director, Willems is in charge of the Villages construction and maintenance programs, including roadway, stormwater, landscaping, sidewalks and bike paths. Willems is a longtime resident of Lee County, graduating from Estero High School and currently living with his family in Estero.

 

Frank Cannella, Public Works Technician

239.319.2828

fcannella@estero-fl.gov

 

Community Development

Village of Estero Community Development Director Mary Gibbs

Mary Gibbs, FAICP

Community Development Director

239.221.5036

gibbs@estero-fl.gov

Mary Gibbs has been the Community Development Director for the Village since June 8, 2015, and previously was Director of Lee County Community Development for 23 years. She is a nationally certified planner and has worked in local governments in Florida since 1977. As Community Development Director, Gibbs manages the Planning, Zoning, Building Permitting, Site Plan review, Code Enforcement, and Inspections functions for the Village. This includes development of the Villages first Comprehensive Plan and Land Development Code to help guide the future growth and vision of Estero.

 

Matt Noble, Principal Planner

239.319.2814

noble@estero-fl.gov

 

Jim Hart, Development Review Manager

239.319.2820

hart@estero-fl.gov

 

Sandy Larsen, Development Review Engineer

239.319.2838

larsen@estero-fl.gov

 

Steve Fontz, Building Official

fontz@estero-fl.gov

 
 

Kathy Eastley, Senior Planner

eastley@estero-fl.gov

 

Jim Scialabba, Plan Reviewer

scialabba@estero-fl.gov

 

Stanley Knight, Code Compliance Officer

knight@estero-fl.gov

 

Sheryl Hopping, Permit Supervisor

hopping@estero-fl.gov

 

James Gardner, Permit Tech

gardner@estero-fl.gov

 

Cecilia Ramirez, Permit Tech

cramirez@estero-fl.gov

 

Maryann Devanas, Zoning Technician

devanas@estero-fl.gov

 

Planning & Zoning

Lisa Reitbauer, Administrative Assistant

reitbauer@estero-fl.gov

 

Marybeth DeGarmo, Building Administrative Assistant

degarmo@estero-fl.gov

 

Eliot Rodriguez, GIS Specialist

erodriguez@estero-fl.gov

 

Don Gaunt, Building Inspector

gaunt@estero-fl.gov

 

John Serenko, Building Inspector

serenko@estero-fl.gov

 

Matt Ingersoll, Building Inspector

mingersoll@estero-fl.gov

 

Village Clerk Office

Village of Estero Clerk Carol Sacco

Carol Sacco, Village Clerk/Executive Assistant

239.319.2840

sacco@estero-fl.gov

 

Tammy Duran, Deputy Village Clerk

239.319.2807

duran@estero-fl.gov

 

Carla Nebbia, Administrative Assistant

239.221.5035

nebbia@estero-fl.gov

 

To receive the latest information about Village projects and community activities, go to the Village website and subscribe at estero-fl.gov.

Leave a Comment





This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.